RSS

Photo of the Week: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

12 Jul

Cristo Redentor

Now that the Olympics are around the corner, I can’t help thinking of another future Olympics site: Brazil.  I feel that I only scratched the surface of the country during my trip there, and I have heard that, in the lead-up to the 2016 Olympics, a lot has already changed and will continue to change in the country.  I hope to see the changes for myself one day, especially in Rio de Janeiro, as this was my favorite city of the ones that I visited during my short trip to Brazil.  One of the city’s icons is this statue: Cristo Redentor (Christ the Redeemer), atop Corcovado, overlooking Rio.  I only got to see the statue from afar during my last trip; hopefully, on my next trip, I’ll be able to catch the train up Corvocado and see Cristo Redentor up close!

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
